DYING IS ABSOLUTELY SAFE by RAM DASS

cultivate-equanimity

Dear Ones,

This is an excerpt from a very inspiring 1 March 2010 blog by Ram Dass. (1)

“…Something has happened to me as a result of meandering through many realms of consciousness over the past fifty years that has changed my attitude toward death. A lot of the fear about death has gone from me. I am someone who actually delights in being with people as they are dying. It is such incredible grace for me. In the morning, if I know I am going to be with such a person, I get absolutely thrilled because I know I am going to have an opportunity to be in the presence of Truth….

“People ask, ‘Do you believe that there is continuity after death?’ And I say, ‘I don’t believe it. It just is.’ That offends my scientific friends no end. But belief is something you hold on to with your intellect. My faith in the continuity of life has gone way beyond the intellect. Belief is a problem because it is rooted in the mind, and in the process of death, the mind crumbles. Faith, consciousness, and awareness all exist beyond the thinking mind.

“I have a friend named, Emmanuel. Some of you have met him through his books. He is a spook, a being of Light that has dropped his body. Emmanuel shares a lot of great wisdom. He is like an uncle to me. I once said to him, ‘Emmanuel, I often deal with the fear of death in this culture. What should I tell people about dying?’ And Emmanuel said, ‘Tell them it’s absolutely SAFE!’ He said, ‘It’s like taking off a tight shoe.’…

“Ramana Maharshi was a great Indian saint. When he was dying of cancer, his devotees said, ‘Let’s treat it.’ And Ramana Maharshi said, ‘No, it is time to drop this body.’ His devotees started to cry. They begged him, ‘Bhagwan, don’t leave us, don’t leave us!’ And he looked and them with confusion and said, ‘Don’t be silly. Where could I possibly go?’ You know, it’s almost like he was saying, ‘Don’t make such a fuss. I’m just selling the old family car.’

“These bodies we live in, and the ego that identifies with it, are just like the old family car. They are functional entities in which our Soul travels through our incarnation. But when they are used up, they die. The most graceful thing to do is to just allow them to die peacefully and naturally -– to ‘let go lightly.’ Through it all, who we are is Soul … and when the body and the ego are gone, the Soul will live on, because the Soul is eternal. Eventually, in some incarnation, when we’ve finished our work, our Soul can merge back into the One … back into God … back into the Infinite. In the meantime, our Soul is using bodies, egos, and personalities to work through the karma of each incarnation.”

In love, light and laughter,
Amrit

……………….
FOOTNOTE

(1) excerpt from “Dying Is Absolutely Safe,” a 1 March 2010 blog by Ram Dass, http://www.ramdass.org/RD/dying-is-absolutely-safe/

…………………………………………………………………………….
…………………………………………………………………………….

One thought on “DYING IS ABSOLUTELY SAFE by RAM DASS

Leave a Reply

